basketloha.blogg.se

Devonthink to go sucks
Devonthink to go sucks







devonthink to go sucks

I’ll show an example of where this helps. Sometimes you want to extract just a portion of a match. Regular expressions aren’t just for pulling out the exact match. If you don’t know what match groups are, there are plenty of primers. The Get Group from Matched Text has access to the groups found with the Match Text action. I’m not using this action for today’s post but it works much like the Match Text. The Replace Text action uses a regular expression to do a find and replace. 1 I’ll show a work around for this later. The Match Text action does not respond to the ‘/m’ flag to treat the incoming text as multi-lines. It matches incoming text against a regular expression. Let’s break these three actions down very quickly. They are the “Match Text”, “Replace Text”, and “Get Group from Matched Text.” They give the user super powers when working with text.īut much like the suit from Greatest American Hero, they come with so little instructions that it’s almost hazardous to work with these actions. Shortcuts has a couple of actions that are poorly documented but extremely powerful. I hate losing text so I decided to write a Shortcut that converts a text block to a Markdown file and attempts to auto-title it based on Markdown front-matter. When I use a Shortcut like the excellent DEVONmenu by Federico, my text is truncated and there’s no indication of what I’ve lost. I do this often and it has become a time suck to use the clipboard as the only way to share more than 2000 characters. If I have a markdown header line with a “title” defined I want the file to be named with that title. I want to export text from Drafts and send it to other apps as a Markdown file. A URL can only support a finite number of characters ( around 2000).

devonthink to go sucks

But, URL schemes have a major limitation when I write long blocks of text. It’s a terrific writing environment and it can integrate with just about anything through URL schemes.









Devonthink to go sucks